Race for Peace

Posted: June 16, 2009 by Trowel in events

From: Moses Billacura
Subject: Fwd: Sports desk pls: June 9, 2009 / Race for Peace
To: “Salvador Jr. Paholio”
Date: Tuesday, 9 June, 2009, 4:19 PM

Sports Development Division-City Mayors Office
Press release
June 9, 2009

Inday Sara shows might, rules 1st Race for Peace

Team Inday Sara ruled the Race for Peace First Mindanao Tour which
comes to an Sunday at the Rizal Park after four-days of grueling race
of the islands best of the best riders.

The Davaoeno riders showed tough riding skills in all stages to make
the team of Vice Mayor Sara Duterte the inaugural champion of the race
which traversed key cities in South Central Mindanao.

Led by fourth and final stage winner Kennedy Guino-o, Team Inday Sara
completed the 682-kilometer race in fifty one hours, 19 minutes and
46.439 seconds.

UM-3MJ came through with second place clocking in 51 hours, 24 minutes
and 6.599 seconds while Cagayan de Oro Team A placed third with
51;52;32.423 seconds.

Team Inday Sara, which has won several titles in the local races, also
drew superb showing from skipper Dexter Nonato, comebacking Ruel
Casaljay, Glen Yap, Melchor Labaya and Danilo Tapao.

It was a tough race in the longest fourth and final stage (Cotabato
City – Davao City) as Guino-o took a formidable challenge from Jacky
Lloyd Berjame of UM-3MJ and Algen Sanchez of Cagayan de Oro Team B.

Guino-o crossed the finished line in five hours, 44 minutes and 46.869
seconds, just ten seconds ahead of Berjame who managed to keep pace
with the eventual winner all race long. Sanchez registered 5 hours, 45
minutes and 06.869 seconds.

With 17 hours, 3 minutes and 15.90 seconds showing, Berjame emerged
champion in the individual classification and followed by Guino-o with
17, 3.16 and 16.053 seconds and Sanchez 17, 7, 21.967 seconds for
second third place respectively.

The Race for Peace-First Tour of Mindanao is the major island’s
version of the highly-successful Liquigaz Tour of Luzon (Northern
Philippines) and the Padyak Pinoy 2009-Tour of Champions, both of
which were sanctioned by PhilCycling.

But its primary objective is far different from the two tour races as
it helps to promote peace peace in Mindanao.

Sports Development Division (SDD)
Davao City Mayor’s Office
City Hall Drive, 8000 Davao City, Philippines
Telefax (082) 2278074


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s