Butuan bikers rule Pahalipay race

Posted: January 19, 2011 by Trowel in events, races, records
Tags: ,

THE visiting Cycleline Extreme team of Butuan City took the over-all team title even as local bet Dexter Nonato of the Inday Sara Team emerged as the top rider in yesterday’s Pahalipay ni Mayor Inday Sara and Vice Mayor Rody Duterte Cycling Race which started and ended at the Park N Stop Carwash in Catalunan Gran.de this city.
The 26-year old Nonato finished the two-lap 105-kilometer road race in two hours, 34 minutes and 19 seconds to pocket P3,000 plus another P1,000 for bagging the Eagle of the Mountain plum.
Cycleline’s Jefrey Saballa finished at closed second and followed in third by Jayrald Daraydo of Team M’lang with identical times of 2:34:19 as they settled for P2,000 and P1,000, respectively.
Cycleline, however, tallied a total time of 7:44:31 to emerge over-all team champion after Loyd Barsame (2:34:38) and Riemon Lapaza (2:35:34) finished fourth and sixth respectively.
Cycleline, also composed of 7th placer Vicmar Vicente and Ernesto Pajamuton Jr., who did not finished due to a nasty spill, went home with the top cash prize of P6,000 and a trophy awarded by Philcycling vice-president for Mindanao Salvador Paholio Jr. and City Mayor’s Office Sports Development Division’s Erlinda Gelbolingo.
The Inday Sara riders under team manager John Paul Madrona settled for second place with a combined time of 7:51:34 with additional clocks from 5th placer Ronnie Urdaneta (2:34:53) and 8th finisher Glen Yap (2:42:22) to cop P4,000 and a trophy.
Veteran Hilario Ladra also did not finished the grueling race after a spill in Carmen when he avoided a garbage dump truck resulting to his busted left knee. But his team Biking Coy still grabbed the over-all third place from the visiting M’lang bikers as his teammates Franklin Ponce (2:42:26 ), Marven Aleonar (2:43:07) and Milan Tugahan (2:44:18) made it a 9-10-11 finish for Biking Coy’s total time of 7:29:51.
M’lang, despite the third place of 25-year old Daraydo, could only managed a total clock of 8:03:03 with an additional time from 12th placer John Mariano Lomboy (2:44:18) and 13th placer Engelbert Golez (2:44:26). Emmanuel Diaz also of M’lang placed 14th but his time of 2:45:07 did not count as only the top three finishers are counted according to chief race marshal Carlofer Salonga.
The Davao Pobre Bikers Association (Dapoba) led by Joel Nambalat and Danny Tapao placed fifth with a time of 8:19:10 to earn P1,000.
Paholio thanked the support given by Mayor Inday Sara Duterte, Vice Mayor Rody Duterte, CMO-SDD, ABC president Councilor Paolo Duterte and the Park N Stop Cash Wash and the participation of the teams of M’lang Mayor Lito Pinol, Dapoba, Biking Coy and Lito Patayan of Cycleline. – LITO DELOS REYES


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s