Archive for the ‘official functions’ Category

THE PhilCycling—inspired not only by the competitive nature of its sport but more importantly its contribution to saving the environment—will push for the reactivation of cycling as a regular sport in the Palarong Pambansa the soonest in 2016.

In a resolution forged during the federation board’s meeting that coincided with the kickoff leg of the Asean Mountain Bike Cup Series in Danao City, Cebu, on Saturday, PhilCycling Chairman Bert Lina and President, Tagaytay Rep. Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino, and the board agreed the annual Palarong Pambansa would significantly support their grassroots development program centered on finding young talent and developing them into potential national athletes.

But the competitive aspect of cycling is just one of the objectives why the PhilCycling wanted its sport back in the Palaro.

“Cycling is no longer just a sport or a hobby or a form of physical fitness—it is an advocacy to help save the environment,” said Tolentino, adding representations will be made with the Department of Education through Secretary Bro. Armin Luistro and Assistant Secretary Tonisito Umali, the Palarong Pambansa Secretary General.

“The campaign to use the bicycle practically every day—as a mode of transportation to and from the work place and schools—has gone global and almost every country in the world is one in promoting the bicycle to help halt global warming,” said Lina, considered as the godfather of Philippine cycling, and who bankrolls the annual international multi-stage Le Tour de Filipinas.

Former Tour champion Modesto Bonzo of Pangasinan initiated the move to bring cycling back to the Palaro. He was fully backed by fellow-ex champion Paquito Rivas and former stars Juancho Ramores and Cornelio Baylon, who both started their illustrious careers in the Palarong Pambansa as cyclists during their high school years in the 1970s and early 1980s.

Danao City Administrator Oscar “Boying” Rodriguez, the PhilCycling Technical Commission head, vowed to encourage his province of Cebu to help in the campaign and pledged to create a mountain bike program suitable for kids of elementary and high school age.


In order not to forestall cycling development in Mindanao, and in view of maintaining only one Vice-President for the federation, let it be known to the cycling community in Mindanao that Mr. Salvador Paholio Jr. is appointed as Deputy Secretary General for Mindanao.

Chairman Mr. Bert Lina
President, Hon. Abraham N. Tolentino
Vice-President: Dr.Philip Ella Juico
Secretary General Atty.Avelino M. Sumagui
Treasurer Oscar “Boying” Rodriguez
Auditor Atty.Jesus Aranas
Paquito Rivas
Cornelio Baylon
Modesto Bonzo
Atty. Froilan Dayco
Lorenzo Lomibao
Atty. Gregorio Larrazabal
Vice Mayor Juancho Ramores
Ricardo Rodriguez
Carlos Gredona
Pablito Sual

Executive Director Jose Villa Jr.

You may click the following newspaper links on this matter:



pLEAse take note of the Le Tour Press Conference on April 6, 2011 at 10 am at the Manila Pavillion.

All officials are required to attend this event.



Posted: March 7, 2011 by Trowel in Communications, official functions
Tags: ,

MANILA, Philippines – Cycling’s world governing body has slammed the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) for its failure to settle the leadership row between local cycling leaders.

“Such a long pending situation is not acceptable for the sporting activity in the Philippines,” said Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) president Pat McQuaid in a letter to the POC and PhilCycling on March 1.

McQuaid was referring to the feud of the two warring factions: Philippine Cycling (PhilCycling), which is headed by Tagaytay City Mayor Bambol Tolentino, and the Integrated Cycling Federation of the Philippines (ICFP) of former Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) chair Philip Ella Juico.

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) had noted in a letter to the POC in 2009 the rules on National Olympic Committee (NOC) membership and affiliation with International Federations (IF), and it was cited again by McQuaid.

CYCLING leaders led by Tagaytay City Mayor Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino and former Philippine Sports Commission chief Philip Ella Juico have been invited to appear before a Congressional hearing on Feb. 15 to shed light on the leadership dispute in the association.

The inquiry will be held by LPGMA Party List Rep. Arnel U. Ty who filed House Resolution 766 last Jan. 31 asking the Committee on Youth and Sports Development to investigate, in aid of legislation, the present state of the PhilCycling.

The inquiry also intends to look into the poor performance of Filipino riders in the Guangzhou Asian Games last year and determine ways to improve their showing in local and international competitions.

Also invited to the hearing are Philippine Olympic Committee president Jose Cojuangco Jr. and PSC chairman Richie Garcia.

Tolentino is recognized by the Union Cycliste International, the international federation for the sport, but his leadership is not recognized by the POC.


Posted: July 5, 2010 by Trowel in events, official functions, photos
Tags: , ,


4th Asian BMX picture files

Posted: July 5, 2010 by Trowel in official functions, photos, records
Tags: ,


Posted: July 1, 2010 by Trowel in announcements, events, official functions

Here’s the list of participants who have expressed interest to attend the BMX Commissaire’s Course:


1) Tena Beltran – Organizer/MTB rider – Quezon City
2) Banz Mendoza – Organizer/BMX & MTB rider – Quezon City
3) Jun Lalo – organizer/BMX & MTB rider – Manila
4) Badge Santos – Organizer/MTB rider – Manila
5) Florentino Narciso – Organizer/MTB rider – Manila
6) Jose Michael Lorenzana – Organizer/BMX rider – Manila
7) Frederick Eboy Farr – Coach/MTB rider – Manila
8) Ely Zapanta – Organizer/BMX & MTB rider – Manila
9) Lemuel Amatong – Organizer – Dipolog City
10) Jeffrey Paniqui – Coach/Organizer – Iloilo City
11) Jeff Odviar – BMX & MTB rider – Cavite
12) Jhong Hormillosa – BMX & MTB rider – Iloilo City

Waiting for confirmation:
1) Mitchell Beatriz – BMX & MTB rider – Dipolog City
2) JR Barba – Organizer/BMX & MTB rider – Dumaguete City
3) Kevin Temblador – BMX & MTB rider – Iloilo City
4) Goodjie Deslate – BMX & MTB rider – Iloilo City